We make it easy for you to work on a project with your clients, colleagues, and other third parties. Every Smart Folder comes with a beautiful timeline website, where you can add tasks and notes and share them with others. This keeps everyone on track and on the same page.
You can share a timeline with either view-only or editing permissions. Both options allow someone to view the timeline, but someone with editing permissions can change the contents of the timeline.
If you share with "view only" permission, the recipient gets access to the timeline website as a viewer.
- They'll receive an email invitation to the timeline
- They can access it from any device
- They'll receive email reminders for the events on which you set reminders
- They'll be notified when you make changes to the timeline
If you share with "can edit" permission, the recipient gets access to the timeline website as an editor.
They'll get all the same benefits and notifications as "viewers" do, but they'll also be able to edit the timeline.
A timeline editor can edit the timeline from desktop and mobile without installing the Chrome extension. They must set up a Folio account to edit the timeline and be signed into their account to view the items that they have permission to see.
Share a timeline
Step 1: Create a Smart Folder and set up the timeline
Before you can share a timeline, you will need to create a Smart Folder and add tasks and notes to its timeline.
Step 2: Share the timeline
- In Gmail, select your Smart Folder.
- From your Folio sidebar, click on the “timeline” tab.
- Click on the “share” button to choose the people with whom to share the timeline.
- Enter or select your contact(s).
- Click on the eye icon button and select the visibility permission: “View only” or “Can edit”
- Click on the “review invitation note” tab to send the recipients a custom message. The timeline invitation email will come directly from the email address tied to your Folio account.
- Click on “Save Changes".
You can also preview the timeline website and indicate the recipient’s role. The role is only shown to you and is purely informational.
What happens next?
We will send an email notification to your recipient. They will see your invitation note and can access the timeline from the link in the email.
Only share a specific timeline item
If you need to loop in someone on a specific task or note, but you don’t want them to have access to the entire timeline, you have the option to only share an individual timeline item.
- Create a timeline item.
- Click on the “add notes” button.
- In the notes field, type the @ symbol and the recipient’s email address.
- Click the “save” button.
We will then show you this message:
If you choose to only share this particular item, we will send an email notification about the item to the recipient. The timeline will not be shared with them.