Using Folio, you can collaborate on a transaction with other agents, a transaction coordinator, or any other real estate professionals.
When you share a timeline, you can opt to share it with edit permission. Sharing a timeline with edit permission gives the other party the ability to edit or change dates on the transaction, and to share it with others.
If they're also a Folio user, they'll have the ability to add your transaction to their account. When you share it, they'll see an invitation in their account. On accepting the invitation:
- They'll see the transaction in their account
- The dates will sync to their calendar
- Those contacts who have roles in that transaction will sync
- They can add or edit dates on the timeline
- And, it'll organize emails in their inbox for that transaction
If you don't want them to be able to change the timeline, simply share it with view permission only. They'll still be able to add it to their account and sync the dates to their calendar, but they won't be able to change anything on it.
I go into more details below on this, if you still have questions.
There are two primary options; you can share with either view or edit permission. Each allows someone to view the timeline your transaction creates, only edit permission lets the other person change the content of the timeline.
Based on how you share it, the recipient will have access to different Folio features. You have two options; you can share with view or edit permission. Each allows someone to view the timeline your transaction creates, only edit permission lets the other person change the content of the timeline.
If you share with "view" permission, the recipient gets access to the timeline website as a viewer.
- They'll receive an email invitation to the timeline
- They can access it from any device, and it works beautifully
- They'll receive email reminders to events that you've set reminders for
- They'll be notified when you make changes to the timeline
If you share with "edit" permission, the recipient gets access to the timeline website as an editor. This is a good option for a co-agent or TC, not for your clients.
They'll get all the same benefits and notifications as "viewers" do above, but they'll also be able to edit the timeline.
If you share with someone who has Folio installed, they'll also be able to add the shared transactions to their Folio, and this will sync it to their calendar too.
What access is not shared
There are a few options that are limited to the original timeline creator. Please consider these limits when deciding who should control the “ownership” of the timeline because it cannot be transferred.
- Only the creator’s templates will be applied when the timeline is created
- Change of representation (Buyer, Seller, Both)
- Managing visibility options for events (everyone, editors only, private)
- Managing Service Providers and Resources
- Sharing client smart folders (pre-contract) with a Folio collaborator is not currently supported. Meaning, they won't see the option to accept your version of the timeline. You need to convert it into an under contract type. See more details below
Chrome Gmail extension
If you would like your Timeline to appear in their Gmail Sidebar, they will need to install the Folio Chrome extension.
We only recommend agents and other real estate professionals install the Folio extension. The extension does not make sense for all clients.
How to Share with Edit Permission
Step 1: Confirm transaction
Before you can share timeline, you will need to confirm the transaction. Confirmation occurs when you select you representation (Buyer, Seller, Both), or when you manually create a transaction.
Step 2: Send invite email
- From the Folio website or sidebar, find the blue share button above the Timeline
- Enter or select your contact(s)
- Change the visibility permission from “View only” to “Can edit” by clicking on the eye icon button
- Click on “SEND” (make any change you need to invite email before sending)
- You will see the share window with “Can edit” and a green checkmark next to the contact name
Step 3: Accept the shared Timeline
The recipient you shared your Timeline with will then be able to accept the shared Timeline from either their Folio website, or their Folio Gmail sidebar.
Accept from Folio website (Collaborator)
Once the invite is sent, you can visit https://www.amitree.com/folio or use the link from the invite email.
- In the Folio tab, you will see an “Suggested Smart Folders” section above your current smart folders
- The shared smart folder will display who is trying to share with you.
- Click the “Join Timeline” button and confirm “Yes, import this timeline”
Accept from the Gmail sidebar (Collaborator)
- The recipient you sent the invite will receive an email from you with a subject line similar to “[Your Name] has invited you to edit the 123 Main St timeline”
- If they have the extension installed they will see a prompt on the right-hand sidebar to “YES, USE THE SAME TIMELINE”
- Once they click YES, there will be a new window letting them know the shared Timeline will replace their existing one
Once accepted, you are all done!
- Sharing client smart folders (pre-contract) with a Folio collaborator is not currently supported. Meaning, they won't see the option to accept your version of the timeline. You need to convert it into an under contract type. See more details here.
- Only a single transaction timeline per property can exist at a given time. By accepting to replace your transaction, your version of the timeline will completely be removed. If you have your own timeline with events important to you, you may consider not accepting it.